To Give Thanks

Here, somewhere just north of the 49th parallel, Thanksgiving approaches. One day set apart from many to give thanks and it seems not quite enough. Shouldn’t thanksgiving be the posture we ought to live in our lives in?

In the letter I read this, “… grace, as it extends to more and more people, may increase thanksgiving to the glory of God.” (2 Cor 4:15)

So this is how I will glorify Him.

 

I receive what you give, Lord, and in turn I give thanks.
I give thanks for a God who denies us nothing, for a God who permits all, even our falling and failing.
I give thanks for a God of grace, a God of peace, a God of love.
I give thank for a God who creates bridges so that we are always coming out the other side, always being renewed, bridges that inevitably draw us closer to Him.
I give thanks for a God who fills the empty broken spaces with His whole being.
I give thanks for a God who is always present.
I give thanks for a God who can be experienced through the Christ.

 

If there is but one thing to be thankful for then joy is always possible, or so I’ve heard. And indeed there is much to be thankful for, perennially thankful.

 

Leave a Reply

